Nobel Economics Prize for Mechanism Design Theory

Nobel logoThe 2007 Nobel Prize for Economics has been awarded to Leonid Hurwicz, Eric S. Maskin and Roger B. Myerson “for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory”.

The Nobel website includes some information for the public, which explains the key concepts of Mechanism Design Theory and its development, as well as, more detailed scientific background, a press release. and an annoucement on their YouTube channel.

Find out more about the Mechanism Design Theory at EconPapers, where you can also read more papers by Eric S. Maskin.

The award has brought reactions from some key bloggers, including Tyler Cowen at Marginal Revolution, Arnold Kling at EconLog, Henry Farrell at Crooked Timber and Steven D. Levitt at Freakonomics. Follow the reaction in the Economics blogosphere via Technorati and Google Blog Search.

Intute: Social Sciences features more resources on the issue of Economics.